Site Search

Social Bookmarks

FacebookMySpaceTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponGoogle BookmarksRedditNewsvineTechnoratiLinkedinMixxRSS FeedPinterest

Local Weather

Click for Geneva, Nebraska Forecast


Fillmore Central High School Holds Honors Banquet

The annual honors banquet of the Fillmore Central Chapter of the Future Business Leaders of America was held on May 3.  FBLA members, parents and other special guests enjoyed the event, which was held in the high school cafeteria.

President Alex Shaner welcomed all who were present and introduced the special guests present. A variety of appetizers and desserts were then enjoyed.

The American Enterprise Project Team comprised of Alex Shaner, Sam Rickert and Rebecca Eichelberger began the program with a presentation of the chapter project which received first place honors at State Leadership Conference. The awards program followed with adviser Cindy Talley first introducing the 2009-2010 chapter officers:  Alex Shaner, president; Sam Rickert, vice president; Joseph Chapman, recording secretary; Nicki Rosenquist, corresponding secretary; Cassie Beale, treasurer; Amaly Reinsch, reporter and Ashley Whitley, historian.

Mrs. Talley then presented the four-year senior award to Cassie Beale, Demi Hogue, Alex Shaner and Shelby Weaver. Members receiving “Crunch Awards” for their behind-the-scenes assistance included Kipp Shaner, Austin Scott and Alex Donovan.

A review of yearly highlights of the year by Mrs. Talley included those members placing at SCC Competition Day and State Leadership Conference. Cassie Beale, Joseph Chapman, Rebecca Eichelberger, Sally Moore, Sam Rickert and Alex Shaner were introduced as qualifiers for national competition this summer. The six qualifiers will be attending National Leadership Conference in Nashville, Tenn., in July.

The officers conducted the remainder of the program. Joseph Chapman and Cassie Beale recognized the 20 members who have contributed to the chapter’s success this year through participation in activities. These members were presented with a Quality Member certificate.

Alex Shaner and Nicki Rosenquist presented certificates of appreciation and booster awards to organizations and individuals who have assisted the chapter throughout the year. Individuals recognized included Betty Steider, Jodi Meyer, Jim Rose, Bob Taylor, Jerry Stratman, Ben Kaye-Skinner, Jeremy Klein, Bonnie Wettstead, Michelle Rayburn and Roger Coon.

Several business people were recognized for their support including Tyler Williams, Dayle Taylor, Linda Hessheimer, Kathy Domeier, Cheryl Myers representing Geneva State Bank, Cyndi Callenius, and Lori Loontjer on behalf of Revitalize Geneva. All officer parents were recognized also.

Ashley Whitley and Sam Rickert presented special awards to members who were selected as outstanding members for 2009-2010. They also presented a certificate and plaque to Alex Shaner who was voted the Overall Outstanding Member for 2009-2010 by the members of the chapter.

The junior officers, Sam Rickert, Ashley Whitley, and Amaly Reinsch, further recognized the senior members for their contributions to the chapter and presented them with a small gift.

Sam Rickert and Amaly Reinsch presented the FBLA Scholarship to this year’s recipient, Alex Shaner.

Before the installation ceremony began, Sam Rickert presented the FBLA Year in Review slideshow. The retiring officers then installed the 2010-2011 FBLA officers in a candlelight ceremony.

The honors program concluded with closing remarks by retiring President Alex Shaner and the presentation of the gavel to newly elected President Sally Moore.